icon caret-left icon caret-right instagram pinterest linkedin facebook twitter goodreads question-circle facebook circle twitter circle linkedin circle instagram circle goodreads circle pinterest circle

Love, Death, and the Art of Cooking

Cover art by Jennifer Greeff

 

Software engineer Reid Lucas loves to cook and has a history of falling in love with married women. When he leaves his complicated past in Chicago for a job in California, he runs into trouble and must call a virtual stranger to bail him out of jail. Alyssa Knight, a tough street cop waiting for a church annulment from her passive-aggressive husband, is the roommate of the woman Reid calls for help, and she reluctantly provides bail for Reid. He falls for her immediately, and cooking for her is an act of love. She just wants to be friends, but they keep ending up in bed together. When his boss is murdered, Reid is a suspect—or is he the intended target?

 

 

REVIEWS

 

"Love, Death, and the Art of Cooking is a brilliant romantic suspense I couldn't put down...Perfect for fans of Diane Mott Davidson. Highly recommend!" - N. N. Light's Book Heaven

 

"In the character of Reid, the author has concocted a leading man as sweet and delectable as the meals he cooks...each character is unique with flaws and complete inner lives. Love, Death, and the Art of Cooking is full of beautifully crafted and incredibly detailed prose." - InD'Tale Magazine

 

"Ms. Griffin did an excellent job in writing...Reid Lucas was not your typical hero. He was a bit of a nerd, he was attracted to married women, and he expressed himself through cooking...I loved the fact that the characters were different. I loved the fact that there was a mystery and danger along with a budding romance. All the descriptions of the meals he was making for his friends and Alyssa were fun. I liked that cooking was his outlet to relieve stress, show affection and treat his friends." - Robin McKenzie 

 

"Love, Death, and the Art of Cooking has all the ingredients to cook up a fantastic romantic suspense novel...Jane plays the part of the carefree sidekick and matchmaker to perfection. Every scene she is in is like a breeze of spring air blowing through the room...The pacing is excellent from start to finish. The writing is so descriptive, the scenes play out like a movie. Love Death and the Art of Cooking will set your heart racing and your mouth watering." - Gina Rae Mitchell

 

"...a well-crafted, suspenseful novel about two people brought together by fate in a unique way and who struggle with their ideas of "love" and "death" and "the art of cooking." The writing is solid and I especially enjoyed the passages when Reid is pondering what is going to cook, almost as much as when he is cooking--almost. I don't think I've ever read a book that made me want to eat as much as this one did. The author is definitely someone who knows food and her way around preparing delicious meals. The suspenseful elements are extremely well-paced and will keep you guessing. And the bit of romance between Reid and Alyssa fit within their individual overall story arcs." - Liz Crowe, author of Numbers Game

 

"This story will make you hungry. Reid is a master cook and dishes up lots of food that will have the fussiest of eaters want to take a bite. The opening grabs your attention with Reid being arrested. The twist of a mysterious murder is interesting, and while I felt the suspense could have been highlighted more, the author ties up the loose ends nicely. Reid and Alyssa make a cute couple, but there were times I felt Alyssa was a bit rough on Reid. Food is definitely an art in this book, and it will make you want to join the author for a delicious dinner meal." - Still Moments Magazine

 

"I enjoyed all the characters especially Reid and Alyssa. I loved the banter between Reid and Alyssa. I loved reading about all the food Reid cooked for Alyssa...Once I picked up Love, Death, and the Art of Cooking it was so hard to put it down at times but life does get in the way on occasion leaving you with no choice. I wanted to keep reading as I followed all the twists and turns to find out whodunit. When I wasn't reading I was thinking about all the characters and wondering who the murderer was. If you like a good romantic suspense novel then you are going to fall in love with Love, Death, and the Art of Cooking so I would like to suggest that you one-click your copy today!" - The Avid Reader 

 

"This book was an interesting, intriguing, suspenseful read filled with delicious, mouthwatering cooking that is sure to leave your tummy growling and your mouth drooling over the pages...This is the second book I have had the pleasure and privilege of reading and reviewing from Linda Griffin. I really enjoy her unique ability to blend multiple genres together in a smooth transition and flowing story line design." - Ally Swanson, Fabulous and Brunette

 

"Although the romance genre is not my favorite, this one was a quick enjoyable read. It is also a culinary person's dream." - Our Town Book Reviews 

 

"This was different, Reid Lucas was not your typical hero. He was a bit of a nerd, he was attracted to married women, and he expressed himself through cooking. He meets Alyssa and is immediately attracted to the policewoman, a devout Catholic who is separated and waiting for an annulment. I loved the fact that the characters were different. I loved the fact that there was a mystery and danger along with a budding romance. All the descriptions of the meals he was making for his friends and Alyssa were fun. I liked that cooking was his outlet to relieve stress, show affection and treat his friends." - J. Follett

 

"This book has a little bit of lots of things. In addition to a charming romance, someone is out to kill our hero, Reid...The writing is excellent--one keeps reading to find out what happens even at slow moments. There are long descriptions of Reid cooking or thinking about cooking, which were a bit tedious, but I understood how these things were intended as his way of meditation." - Rachel C. 

"Loved this book! The characters and the story kept me reading until the end! I enjoyed the storyline and the characters throughout the book. Such a great read to get lost in. I highly recommend this book!" - Bobbi M, Netgalley  

 

"Don't read this book on an empty stomach. The hero of the book, Reid Lucas, is an excellent cook and the many meals he makes and describes will make you want to raid the refrigerator...A quirky love story with a hint of danger." - Sharon, Bookbub.